NEWSLETTER OF THE OFFICE OF MEDICAL EDUCATION AT THE UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI MEDICAL CENT

OCTOBER 2019

### Student supervision: A reminder for all

By Dr. Loretta Jackson-Williams



Jackson-Williams

The mission statement for the School of Medicine plainly states that the school is committed to training skilled and compassionate physicians to provide high-quality and equitable health care. This health care training is done within a system that strives to provide the best possible care for all patients in a safe and reliable manner. Therefore, medical students are expected to be supervised at

all times to protect the students and the safety of our patients.

Specific information regarding medical student supervision can be found in the Policy on Student Supervision for the School of Medicine in the document center. The policy outlines the types of supervision, the responsibilities of all involved individuals and the guidelines for supervision by attending staff or their designees.

Attending staff and their designees are reminded that medical students are learners

and are not licensed to provide independent patient care. At all times, the attending physician retains medical and legal responsibility for patient care.

It is also the responsibility of the attending physician to ensure

that all designees – residents, fellows and other licensed practitioners – are appropriately prepared for their roles when supervising medical students within their scope of practice.

Medical students may take histories, perform physical exams, synthesize data and participate in the management of patients requiring procedures. Medical students must clearly identify themselves to patients and their families as medical students.

Junior (M3) medical students document their findings in a medical student tab and senior (M4) medical students document their findings in the medical record. All documentation should be reviewed by an attending staff or his or her designee.



## HOPE event to highlight patients' role in medical student development

The Gold Humanism Honor Society is an organization that promotes the tradition of the caring doctor and emphasizes placing human interests, values and dignity at the core of health care practice.

As such, the UMMC Jeanette D. Pullen Chapter of GHHS is organizing an event called the HOPE Banquet to highlight the special role that patients play in medical students' development as physicians.

HOPE stands for Honoring Our Patient Educators. For this event, each third-year medical student will have the opportunity to select one patient that has been meaningful to him or her in his or her clerkship training and to honor that patient at the banquet on April 9, 2020.

The banquet will be a dedicated time of celebration to highlight the powerful role patients play in medical education. This banquet will be modeled after similar programs at other medical schools, and it will emphasize the humanistic values taught by patients.

GHHS members would like attending physicians to encourage third-year medical students to take part in the HOPE Banquet by

nominating patients with whom they have shared a special bond. The nomination process is straightforward, and patients admitted to internal medicine, pediatrics, ob-gyn or surgery services will be eligible for nomination.

Specific information regarding the nomination process will be provided to both students and faculty in the above specialties via email. For



more information, email Lyssa Weatherly, GHHS chapter advisor, at <a href="mailto:lweatherly@umc.edu">lweatherly@umc.edu</a>; Kandice Bailey, GHHS ceremony chair, at <a href="mailto:kcbailey@umc.edu">kcbailey@umc.edu</a>; or Emily McBride, GHHS president, at <a href="mailto:emcbride@umc.edu">emcbride@umc.edu</a>.

# Info tech corner Panopto goes away; make way for BigBlueBottom

Education tools are improving, and SOM faculty are encouraged to get prepared early.

Panopto will not be available after Dec. 31. Be sure all recordings are downloaded and saved. Information is available on the DIS-Technology Learning Central site. Open labs will be scheduled to answer related questions. Keep an eye on your inbox for more information.

BigBlueButton, a solution designed specifically for education, is coming soon. It integrates directly into Canvas courses. To see a

preview of its functionality, visit <a href="https://bigbluebutton.org/">https://bigbluebutton.org/</a>.



NearPod is a student engage-

ment tool integrated into Canvas courses. Polling and quizzing



are noteworthy features, with live or asynchronous delivery options. To get

a sneak peek, visit <a href="https://nearpod.com/l/higher-ed/">https://nearpod.com/l/higher-ed/</a>. More details and availability dates will be emailed soon.

### School of Medicine announces new slate of class officers

#### M1 Class:

Jacob Warren Garrett: President Niall Andrew Mehaffey: Vice President Harrison Asa Livingston: Secretary Melanie Brumfield Baker: Treasurer

Matthew Peter Pinto: Curriculum Committee Representative

Alexander Banks Carlisle: Intramural Co-director Thomas (Drew) Andrew Shands Jr.: Faculty Liaison

Elena (Lane) Wilson Bobo and Andrew Cade Burks: Community Service Co-chairs

Ahmed Samir El-Sadek and Ruhi Randhawa: Diversity Co-chairs

William Bradley Munn and Cara Frances Pridmore: Social Cochairs

Katy Ellen Gregory: Podcasting Chair

Mariegene Eliza (Mari Liza) McKinney Almand and Brandon

Thomas McDaniel: Note Service Co-chairs

Amelia Rae Kundel: SOM Student Facility Administrator

#### M2 Class:

Joseph (JoJo) M. Dodd: President T. Brent Ferguson: Vice President Khoula Saleem: Secretary

Kevin Varghese: Treasurer

Casey A. Spell: Curriculum Committee Representative

Dean M. Scafidi: Intramural Co-director Amy K. Krecker: Faculty Liaison

Camille A. Azar and Reya M. Hayek: Community Service Co-

chairs

Hamza G. Patel and Karam Rahat: Diversity Representatives Ashley L. Gnam and D. Graham Hodge: Social Co-chairs

Barry Lane Williamson: Podcasting Chair

Taylor M. Christian and Gerri A. Wilson: Note Service Co-chairs A. Louise Berryhill Stewart, Taylor M. Christian and W. Parker

Litchliter: SOM Student Facility Administrators

#### M3 Class:

Peyton S. Thigpen: President Kirby G. Parker: Vice President Kelsey C. Hillhouse: Secretary

Sarah Grace Whitehead Sobiesk: Treasurer

Sara B. Parker: Curriculum Committee Representative

Victoria (Tori) A. Wilson: Social Chairman

Lily F. (Lily Fran) McCrory: Liaison Committee Representative Mariam C. Ebeid and Ruth E. Fowler: Community Service Representatives

Alexa A. Engel and Shivanrhidevi Gandhi (Shivanthi): Diversity

Representatives

Michael J. Gilbert and Shanesse J. Spratt: Intramural Co-directors

Jazmyn (Jazz) J. Shaw: Note Service Chair

#### M4 Class:

John F. G. Bobo: President Ashley K. Brown: Vice President

Laura Kathryn (Katie) Wegener: Secretary

Annaleigh E. Coleman: Treasurer

Graham W. Husband: Curriculum Committee Representative Sara Kiparizowska: Liaison Committee Representative

Kandice C. Bailey: Diversity Representative Augustin Casals: Intramural Co-Director

Phillip Qu: Intramural Co-Director

J. Brooks Becton and Anna E. O'Connor: Social Chairmen Melinda (Mindy) M. Talley: Community Service Representative Gurjit Kaur and J'undra (Jay) N. Pegues: Student Facilities

Administrators

### The Curriculum Committee votes are in:

Robert Hester – faculty

Christianne C. Paine - GME faculty